Some Rumble Trivia For You

JR said this on commentary for the 2004 Rumble and remarkably enough it’s still true heading into the 2013 edition.

The Dudleys are the only teams to win the (non-vacant) tag titles at the Rumble.  In 25 years of the Rumble, no one else has ever won them.  I love little factoids like that which you would never think of otherwise.


Anybody have any interesting ones?


  1. SamualDude says:

    From 2007 to 2009, The person who won the WWE Championship match won the Royal Rumble the next year.

  2. Rocko says:

    3 – Number of entrants that came out right after Triple H did and went on to win the Rumble. More than anyone else.

    2006: Triple H entered #1 and Rey Mysterio, the winner, entered at #2.
    2008: Triple H entered #29 and John Cena entered #30 and won.
    2009: Triple H was the #7 entrant and Randy Orton, who entered at #8, went on to win it.

    From 2008 to 2010, the person who came out right before the winner was in a Main Event at WM (or at least a match that was billed as a Main Event).

    2008: HHH – WM 24 – HHH vs Cena vs Orton – WWE Title
    2009: HHH – WM 25 – HHH vs Orton – WWE Title
    2010: Jericho – WM 26 – Jericho vs Edge – World Title

  3. Ryan says:

    From 2005 to 2012, excluding 2011, the runner-up in the Rumble was also in a WWE or World title match at Wrestlemania.

    2005: Batista won; John Cena runner-up
    2006: Mysterio won; Orton/HHH runners-up
    2007: Undertaker won; HBK runner-up
    2008: John Cena won; HHH runner-up
    2009: Randy Orton won; HHH runner-up
    2010: Edge won; Cena runner-up
    2012: Sheamus won; Jericho runner-up

    The Killjoy Reply:

    Not only that, but barring 2005, the runner-ups end up having a higher billing on the card than the winner.